We think you are in Victoria. If not please click 'Change'

In your state, you are required to confirm you wish to access this information. Please enter 'QLD' or 'WA' in the field below to continue.

No thanks

CBA’s Open Advice Review Program

Commonwealth Bank of Australia (CBA) has developed its Open Advice Review Program (OARP) in response to ASIC investigations into allegations of inappropriate conduct at CBA-owned financial planning businesses Commonwealth Financial Planning Limited (CFPL) and Financial Wisdom Limited (Financial Wisdom).

On the 26th June 2014, a Senate Committee recommended that a compensation scheme be established to address this wrongdoing, and remediate customers for the loss they suffered due to the misconduct of CFPL and Financial Wisdom.

Our offer to you

  • Obligation-free consultation to assess your case confidentially

  • Claim assessment process where we will explain all of the options available to you

  • We can come to you - if you can't make it into the office we're more than happy to come to you

  • No Win No Fee arrangement

Common questions about CBA’s Open Advice Review Program

The Open Advice Review Program is open to all CFPL and/or Financial Wisdom customers who received financial advice between 1 September 2003 and 1 July 2012, and who wish to have their advice reviewed.
The Open Advice Review Program will involve:
  • a review of past advice conducted by a specialist CBA team;
  • the services of an Independent Customer Advocate to assist the customer, at no cost to them;
  • the option for further review by an independent panel, which will determine whether compensation is payable and, if so, how much;
  • an independent expert to oversee and publically report on the process.
Shine Lawyers has been investigating potential compensation claims on behalf of customers who received advice from CFPL and Financial Wisdom.

To date, the investigations have centered upon allegations of inappropriate financial advice given to customers between 1 September 2003 and 1 July 2012.

CBA’s Open Advice Review Program and Shine’s role as an Independent Customer Advocate in the Program, aims to ensure that all those customers of CFPL and Financial Wisdom who wish to have their advice reviewed can do so.
Shine Lawyers has been appointed as an Independent Customer Advocate to support customers of CFPL and Financial Wisdom who have registered to be involved in CBA’s Open Advice Review Program.

Within this role, Shine Lawyers will deliver independent legal advice and support to customers who receive an assessment of their previous financial advice from CFPL or Financial Wisdom under the Open Advice Review Program. As an Independent Customer Advocate, Shine Lawyers is here to ensure that customers’ claims are fairly and consistently assessed and remediated. Shine is available to help any customer who wants an independent review of CBA’s Assessment of their advice. There is no cost to the customer for this independent advice service.

In addition, Shine Lawyers is assisting the CBA to develop the processes and methods used to review customer claims under the Open Advice Review Program.
If you are looking to participate in the Open Advice Review Program, we encourage you to:

1) register with CBA, and
2) contact us so that we can help you to understand your legal rights and ensure that these rights are protected while CBA undertakes its review of your advice.

Time limits can apply so potential participants are encouraged to get in touch as soon as possible to ensure their right to a claim is not lost due to a time limit.
Shine Lawyers will act as an Independent Customer Advocate at no cost to affected customers. This is because customers involved in the Open Advice Review Program are entitled to obtain fully funded independent legal and financial advice about the assessment of their advice. This advice will be funded by CBA.
If you would like Shine to act for you as your Independent Customer Advocate, please contact us.
To receive regular updates on CBA’s Open Advice Review Program and the work Shine Lawyers is doing to support customers of CFPL and Financial Wisdom who want to have their advice reviewed, register your details with us. Shine encourages CFPL and Financial Wisdom customers to register for the OARP.

Latest from the blog

Duty of care at school or daycare – Who is responsible?
February 8, 2018

Duty of care at school or daycare – Who is responsible?

What Duty of Care Do Teachers and Carers Have Towards Your Children? Every parent hopes that their child’s time at day care and school will be an adventure filled with learning, play and new experiences. Children can’t (and shouldn’t!) be shielded from every bump and bruise but ultimately, carers and teachers must do what they […]

Read more
What Safer Internet Day means to an abuse lawyer
February 6, 2018

What Safer Internet Day means to an abuse lawyer

Safer Internet Day in 2018 is about creating, connecting and sharing respect. Its motto is that “A better internet starts with you”. I like to think of this as a call to action for every individual and every organisation/ institution to really consider what we all can do to make the internet, which is now […]

Read more
What to look for in Contents Insurance
February 5, 2018

What to look for in Contents Insurance

Australians are chronically under-insured. In fact only 1 in 5 of us has enough cover to replace our belongings and our homes if we lost everything in a fire or a flood. People who rent their homes are even less likely to have ANY insurance at all. Research from the Insurance Council of Australia found […]

Read more
See more from the blog

Enquire now

Featured lawyer: Rebecca Jancauskas

Featured lawyer: Rebecca Jancauskas

Rebecca Jancauskas is Special Counsel with over 10 years experience in plaintiff litigation. Leading our class action and environmental law teams, she is passionate about acting on behalf of individuals and communities who have been wronged.

Read more

Call Us Now

Our friendly consultants are available to talk Monday to Friday, 8:15am to 6:00pm AEST.

1800 618 851

Live Chat

Chat with Shine Lawyers through the livechat system without leaving your computer. No downloading, completely private and best of all - it's easy to use.

Start a live chat now

Enquire Now